a’MACE’ing Days

Some days are sweet, Some days are pain, But very few days are a'MACE'ing -Srinath Krishnamoorthy
Some days are sweet,
Some days are pain,
But few days are a’MACE’ing
-Srinath Krishnamoorthy
Follow his upcoming novel by clicking here–> Hope We Never Meet Again

Have you ever wondered, what is so poetic about an engineering college?

To begin this story, I would say I’m a confused guy. I keep asking questions… crazy things, like:

                             “Should I score marks… or should leave a mark in life?”

                            “Should I code in Java or should I decode my destiny itself?”

Insane and stupid questions. But answers were hard to find. And I have always felt that story engineering was far more fascinating than software engineering. So I decided to take a U-Turn in life. I quit my IT career due to my intense passion for writing. But then, I never expected to stumble across an ideal place to live my dreams. Dreams of romancing books, nature and words, all in one place. My search went on with hardly any luck… for that perfect place to begin everything. Everything that I would later want to define in this life as destiny.

Well, MTech was the perfect answer to every question fired at me by uncles and aunties and pestering neighbours: ” Ne ippo enna edukuva…?”,

         “Chumma irrupa lle…?”,

         “Joliyum kooliyum onnum ille…?”

“Adutha veetile Sheebaku bankil kitty… ninako?”

“Entammo…!!!”

Some random permutation of planetary positions somehow guided me to MACE.  But then, I just fell in love with this campus…and this beautiful town called Kothamangalam.

There are no hard and fast rules for falling in love with a place or a person. Some are love at first sight…others take time. The night before I came to MACE for the first time, I walked around Kothamangalam. Like I always do when I land up in a new place. Strolling around the town studded with beautiful churches and narrow roads, somewhere in my heart I did feel that “This is it… this is the place where my dreams belong…”.

Some roads just make you feel 'time'.
Some roads just make you feel ‘time’.

The road towards our college from College Junction, those big trees with big eyes towering above us for god-knows-how-many decades, those fallen leaves and flowers (which I strangely feel like great hopes of silent romances), our front gate, walking down that beautiful steep trail towards college canteen with the OAT by its side… the time we spend sipping tea with friends after college hours…it all fills my heart with an extraordinary sensation of nostalgia. This campus has given me answers to some very personal yet fundamental questions about life, love  and future. Feeling lucky to have met remarkable people here… fellow MACEians with outstanding intelligence… people with great organising skills… guys who can even make the impossible look possible…a campus with quality students and wonderful faculty that can make one feel proud that he/she is a part of this grandeur. Being MACE’ian makes you feel mighty and that is just ‘aMACEing’ !!!

MACE4

Like thousands of students who have come and gone… like the hundreds who are still there… I have also fallen in love with the fragrance of the first rain in our campus, with the dew drops that reflects sunlight from leaves and flowers as we walk towards our classrooms, with the ice-cold ITC, with the silent library, with the lonely OAT that gets jam-packed during Sanskriti, with that playground and with those quiet corridors.

Those walls, pillars and hallways always seem to burst with a million stories of love, loss and friendship. It may stand there for a thousand more years holding your…no OUR stories as well. Those pillars may murmur among each other the best or worst of our stories for timeless times.

MACE is indeed a timeless beauty. So is Kothamangalam.

The main juncture in the town (marked by the Kothamangalam Post Office) is where I feel nature and time split in two. You take a left turn for Kochi; a place buzzing with people and activity. You take a right turn and you are heading towards nature in its most classic form. I mean, how can we forget Boothathankettu, Thattekad, Edamalayar, Neriyamangalam, Munnar… the list goes on. Numerous evenings were spent driving around these incredible places with friends and those moments of excitement can never be forgotten. Kothamangalam is an astonishing sentiment if you know where to search it in your heart.

IMG-20150828-WA0045

Then there is excitement. Raw fun. I have never experienced watching a movie in a theatre crammed with students from just one college!!! It was a Friday and Bangalore Day’s had released. We all simply rushed out of our exam halls and dashed towards Ann Theatre. Watching that Matinee with a roaring crowd, I realized that almost every seat in Ann Cinema was occupied by a MACEian.  Laughter, cheers, whistles and loads of fun. Nothing can be more exciting than watching a movie like that. Unforgettable. I can assure you, this is an experience you can rarely have anywhere else on earth. We simply rock!!!

This Diwali, my first novel is getting released. And this would not have been possible if it was not for MACE and Kothamangalam. I will always be indebted to this campus and to you my fellow MACEians for all the love and support that you have given me till now. Thanks to my dear friends and respected faculty members of CSE department. Thanks to Appu and Jithesh for passionately sharing my blogs.

You may not know me by my name, but we are building a bond through words. If you happen to read my upcoming novel, we may end up embarking an amazing journey of words and lives. And this journey is something that we need to continue.

Yes, there is a huge wall of time and space between us  but we are all connected by one single thread called MACE.

Typing this blog, images of a Sanskriti night flashes in front of my eyes. After a heart thumping, ground shaking dance, every light is put off. There is complete darkness.  The only things visible are hundreds of fluorescent bands. Green, pink and blue. In the name of love, unity and brotherhood, a hundred flashlights from mobile phones coming to life. There is just one emotion… one name… one feeling in every heart: MACE.

Maybe that is something aMACEingly poetic about our college- MACE.

***

Srinath Krishnamoorthy (1)

The Author of this blog is Srinath Krishnamoorthy. Like millions out there, he too is trying to figure out what needs to be done with his life. After a three-year stint as software test engineer in Tech Mahindra, he is currently pursuing MTech in Computer Science & Engineering at MA College of Engineering, Kothamangalam. His début novel Hope We Never Meet Again is scheduled for release this Diwali.

13 thoughts on “a’MACE’ing Days

    1. Thank you so much Sri.. The support you have given me through this journey is invaluable. .a few words of appreciation is the fuel that keeps me going. Life is all about memories right… We all live and die in.memories…sri

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Awestruck!!
    Had been there twice or thrice.. But always that place attracts me.. you are right.. MACE is one of the best place with best people like you and best faculties..
    May these memories stay forever and ever.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

